License Dog Before January 31, 2019, to Avoid $25 State Late Fine
License is $6 if Dog is Spayed/Neutered; $11 if Not
Dog licensing ensures rabies vaccination, which protects the health of your pet. Citizens should also know that by licensing their dog they are directly fighting animal cruelty and abuse. Most people do not realize that up to 90% of their dog license fees go directly to the Maine Animal Welfare Program. Dog license fees account for 95% of the State Animal Welfare Program’s entire funding and without these fees, the state would be unable to protect the animals of this state.
All dogs six months and older must have a license. If you become the owner of a dog six months or older, the dog must be licensed by January of each year. In order to obtain a license for your dog, the owner must present a current State of Maine Rabies Certificate obtained from a veterinarian. This certificate will verify that your dog has received its rabies shot within the past two years.
Note: Although cats do not require a license, they must be vaccinated against rabies.
How to Obtain a License
To receive a license for your dog, please come into the City Clerk's Department office at City Hall during our business hours, which are Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. You may also re-license your dog through the mail:
City Clerk's Office
27 Pine St.
Lewiston, ME 04240
You must send a copy of a current, State of Maine rabies certificate along with a check payable to the "City of Lewiston" for the appropriate fee, and we will process the license and return the material to you.
Renewing the License
All dog licenses expire December 31, of each year. Renewal of licenses for the following year can be done at the City Clerk's Department beginning in November of each calendar year. Also, bring with you proof if a veterinarian has issued a written certificate stating the dog is incapable of producing young by spaying or neutering. If you have already shown proof to the department, then additional proof is not necessary.
Dog Licensing Fees
- $6 per year for spayed / neutered dogs
- $11 per year for dogs not spayed / neutered
- Per state law, any dog license that is relicensed after January 31 will be subject to a $25 late fee
Please feel free to contact the City Clerk's Office at 207-513-3124 with any questions you may have.